I passed! With no idea what I did…

Standard

Close up of a person writing on a chalkboard

The good news is that I passed the first post-assessment for the online training I’ve done. But in all honesty? I wouldn’t have any confidence to sit a certification exam with this result. Why is this?

The first part of the “why” is probably to do with my learning style. I pick things up quickly, but I’m a shifty cheater. For technical training like this, I don’t see why I should memorise the THEORY if I know the practical, and I rely heavily on what I call “cheat sheets” – handwritten notes which contain the key points I know I will be examined on, but have no inclination to memorise.

One of the things my past colleagues have always amused themselves with is that I have a huge breadth of knowledge in my field – how to create weird and whacky formulas in Excel, how to rig up a crazy function to make online training work in a SCORM interface, even though it’s not typical functionality, how to make funky things happen in Flash, and so on and so forth. But I have limited depth of knowledge. I know how to use the F1 key damned well. Google works well for me because I store in my mind the best key words to use. I have hand written notebooks with formulas hand written down. I have a basic grasp of algebra and how to make it work for me and my work.

In the world that I work in (software development, business analysis – aka Excel Monkey – and web), the technology changes often. The functions which used to work stop working in the next software release, etc etc. So I find it’s more important to know what you’re doing, rather than how to do it (see my previous post on faking it). I think this is why I’m good at my job…

Back to the topic at hand though, I’d only pass an open book certification exam on this topic. The software specific jargon just blows my mind – it’s all just noise and I’d rather memorise something more important (like what value a formula will return, so that I can use said formula practically, later).

The second reason I have so little confidence in sitting a formal exam is that I didn’t concentrate. Let’s go back to some online learning 101. Don’t overload your learners on the nitty gritty details when they’re not necessary. 

The great thing about the SAP online training is that there are a LOT of demos and simulations which you can do. It’s so good that even though I didn’t have a system I could access (to do the learning activities), there were recordings which I could interact with, to learn the basic process of how to do something. But I lost interest after about the first 5 simulations and demos because the first 15 steps (ok, minor exaggeration) were going from the Microsoft Windows home page, to open the damned application, to accessing the multiprovider, to opening a query. It was interesting the first few times, and then mind numbingly boring for every recording and simulation thereafter. So I’d press “Play” and then I’d go and read my emails or do something else. Why couldn’t the simulation start at the learning point of the process, rather than at the start of the program?

Secondly? Don’t confuse me with an audio track that doesn’t match up to the copy I’m reading on the screen.

Believe it or not, I’m an auditory learner. It’s been tested! That said, if I’m listening to something and it doesn’t match up to what is happening in front of my eyes I tune out. This training was infested with this kind of mismatched audio / copy. Why bother with two different scripts? It makes absolutely no sense! Either get rid of the wall of text and make it into a condensed and effective infographic or get rid of the audio. Not only is this confusing to many learners, but it’s also a waste of money. The extra bandwidth required to play the audio, the extra time to write the script and then record it… it’s all so wasteful.

Thirdly? I know I didn’t have to pay for this training, but it would be so nice if there was a cheatsheet provided for me. Just on the key process steps. It doesn’t need to be an extensive manual, but a simple print out would have been fantastic.

So all that said, don’t examine me on this. It’s going to take me a few months of solid, real world application of this learning, for me to have the confidence to sit down and do a formal exam…

Leave a Reply

